JOSEPH WIFFEN.
14th September 1814
Reference Numbert18140914-47
VerdictGuilty
SentenceTransportation

Related Material

ActionsCite this text | Print-friendly version | Report an error
Navigation< Previous text (trial account) | Next text (trial account) >

742. JOSEPH WIFFEN was indicted for feloniously stealing, on the 7th of September , two shirts, value 20 s. nine cravats, value 20 s. a pocket handkerchief,

value 5 s. a pair of shoes, value 5 s. and two pair of stockings, value 5 s. the property of George Humphreys .

GEORGE HUMPHREYS . I live at No. 5, Crescent-place, Blackfriars . The prisoner lived with me as groom , and took care of my wardrobe. I missed the articles in the indictment; on Thursday I found them. I did not miss them until I found them. I was present when these articles were found at the prisoner's lodgings; he lived with me between four and five months. I sent for a constable, and had him taken into custody in my house. The constable and I went to his lodgings at the Queen's Head, Water-lane; in a bed room up stairs I found six cravats, a pocket handkerchief, and a pair of shoes; my name is inside of the shoes; they had been worn very little. He lodged out of my house; he lodged at this public-house when first he came to me. I also found two shirts and two cravats at his washerwoman's; the two shirts are worth forty shillings. The washerwoman's name is Sims. My two waistcoats I found in the hay-loft, hid under the hay. He acknowledged taking the waistcoats, and said where he had put them. One of the waistcoats has my name on it in full length.

RICHARD MARLOW. I am a constable. By the direction of Mr. Humphreys, I went to the prisoner's lodgings, the Queen's Head, Water-lane, and to Mrs. Sims, the washerwoman; the husband is here. I brought two shirts from the washerwoman's. Mr. Humphreys found the two waistcoats, and gave them to me. I produce them and the two shirts.

Prosecutor. They are mine.

WILLIAM SIMS . I only know my wife washed for the prisoner. I have seen the prisoner come backwards and forwards for his linen.

Prisoner's Defence. I have no friend. I trust entirely to your lordship's mercy.

GUILTY , aged 21.

Transported for Seven Years .

London jury, before Mr. Common Serjeant.


View as XML